Prof P. R. Kumar

P. R. Kumar obtained his B.Tech. degree in Electrical Engineering (Electronics) from IIT Madras in 1973, and the M.S. and D.Sc. degrees in Systems Science and Mathematics from Washington University, St. Louis, in 1975 and 1977, respectively. From 1977-84 he was a faculty member in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. From 1985-2011 he was a faculty member in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Coordinated Science Laboratory at the University of Illinois. Currently he is at Texas A&M University, where he is a University Distinguished Professor and holds the College of Engineering Chair in Computer Engineering.

Kumar has worked on problems in game theory, adaptive control, stochastic systems, simulated annealing, neural networks, machine learning, queueing networks, manufacturing systems, scheduling, wafer fabrication plants and information theory. His research is currently focused on energy systems, wireless networks, secure networking, automated transportation, and cyberphysical systems.

Kumar is a member of the National Academy of Engineering of the USA, and a Fellow of the World Academy of Sciences. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Eidgenossische Technische Hochschule) in Zurich. He received the Outstanding Contribution Award of ACM SIGMOBILE, the IEEE Field Award for Control Systems, the Donald P. Eckman Award of the American Automatic Control Council, and the Fred W. Ellersick Prize of the IEEE Communications Society. He is an ACM Fellow and a Fellow of IEEE. He was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award from IIT Madras, the Alumni Achievement Award from Washington University in St. Louis, and the Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois.

Prof Narendra Karmarkar

Narendra Karmarkar received his B.Tech. in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay in 1978, the M.Sc. from the California Institute of Technology and a PhD in Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley in 1983.

He invented a polynominal algorithm for linear programming, known as “Karmarkar’s algorithm”. Narendra Karmarkar was a professor at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai. He received several prizes and awards, among them the Paris Kanellakis Award (2000) for “his theoretical work in devising an Interior Point method for linear programming that provably runs in polynomial time, and for his implementation work suggesting that Interior Point methods could be effective for linear programming in practice as well as theory” and the Srinivasa Ramanujan Birth Centenary Award (1999), presented by the Prime Minister of India.

Prof Vijay Chandru

Vijay Chandru received his B.E. in Electrical Engineering at the Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani in 1975, his M.Sc. in Engineering Systems at the University of California, Los Angeles in 1977 and a PhD in Operations Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1982.

He has more than three decades of experience of connecting academia and industry, with teaching positions in various prestigious universities. Vijay Chandru is co-founder of Strand Life Sciences, a pioneer in computational biology and clinical genomics in India. Currently, he serves as its chairman and Managing Director.

Vijay Chandru was elected a Technology Pioneer of the World Economic Forum in 2006 and serves on the Forum’s global agenda council on the future of the health sector.